I think the PROFSAVE_tmp (for temporary?) is supposed to erase and replace the PROFSAVE when you quit the game, but it doesn’t and that’s the problem.
So every time you make change ingame and quit the game, delete the PROFSAVE file and the “_tmp” extension of the PROFSAVE_tmp, your settings should be saved when you launch the game again.